My Year in Review for 2013!

Every year I normally do a “Year in Review” post on my Facebook page but thought I would blog about it this year. So here goes!

Started last year with a trip out to the thriving metropolis of Wishart to celebrate Malanka, or Ukrainian New Years. I had the pleasure of watching my girlfriend Corby dance with the Wishart Hopak Dancers and also ring in the new year in small town fashion. Here is a link to a video from the epic Kalamanka (group dance) that lasted well over 30 min.

 

In March I ventured into the wine making business when me and three friends of mine, who all met while teaching at Robert Usher Collegiate, made the first two batches of 4-Ush wine. We have since done 6 more batches for a total of 8 different wines!IMG_0657

Also in March, I got to see Great Big Sea on St. Patty’s Day, which was awesome!

At the end of March I took my first trip to Mexico with my lovely girlfriend Corby. We went to Puerto Vallarta and had an amazing time! A trip I will never forget.

IMG_0134IMG_0117

In April my daughter turned 4 years old! I can’t believe that she is going to be 5 soon.

IMG_0271

In May I enjoyed seeing my girlfriend Ukrainian dance once again at Veselka in Foam Lake.

IMG_0400 IMG_0399

Then in June I got to see my daughter perform with her Italian Dance group at Mosaic in Regina. She did so well and was absolutely adorable! And I also got to coach my daughter’s very first soccer team. That was an adventure! Corby and I also got season tickets to the Riders. Little did we know back in June just how special the season would be.

IMG_0471 IMG_0472IMG_0608

Before we knew it, it was summer and we were hitting the road. Our first trip was to Winnipeg to visit friends and celebrate the July long weekend. Here is a pick of Ava at the Winnipeg Zoo.

IMG_0799

Next was  the Craven Country Jamboree for Corby and I. We had a blast and saw some great concerts. Speaking of concerts, I also got to see Alice in Chains with my buddy Danny.

IMG_0837 IMG_0848IMG_0807

Next was a trip to Lloydminster and Edmonton to visit friends and spend some time Corby’s family. I also got to golf with 4-Ush crew at Riverhurst.

IMG_0992IMG_0934

Took in a wedding on the August long weekend in Foam Lake and then it was time for the 20th anniversary of the Boys Golf Trip. This year we went back to where it all began, Fishing Lake.

IMG_1121

Next was fulfilling one of my childhood dreams, seeing Sir Paul McCartney in concert! It was maybe one of the best concerts I have ever seen!

IMG_1160

We finished off the summer with another wedding and then it was back to work. In September I started the 30th season of The Saskatoon Soaps and also joined the cast of a variety show called Red Hot Riot here in Regina. Corby and I also continued to enjoy going to the Rider home games. Which takes us into November and Grey Cup. We had a crew from Saskatoon and elsewhere come and join us for the festivities and then we took in the big game! What an amazing experience!

ridervill 4 riderville 3 riderville 5 riderville 6 riderville 8 riderville

Next we celebrated Corby’s birthday after the Riders big win and before we knew it, it was Christmas time. I had an amazing year and want to thank all the special people in my life for making it so amazing. Here’s to 2014!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

